Tuesday, 5 January 2010

Junta Ikeda wins Australian Lightning title

Junta Ikeda has won the 2010 Australian Lightning Championship, after defeating Moulthan Ly 2-0 in a playoff match. The playoff was actually between the 2 players who tied for 2nd in the tournament, as the tournament winner, GM Gawain Jones, is ineligible for the title. This is the 2nd national lightning title for Ikeda, who previously won the lightning event at the 2006-07 Australian Open (as well as winning 2 Australian Junior Lightning titles).
Round 3 of the Championship saw Canberra junior Yi Yuan defeat IM Aleks Wohl, making it successive losses for Wohl against players from the ACT. The win pushed Yuan up to 2.5/3, half a point behind the 3 leaders (Zhao, Johansen and Xie)

Yuan,Yi (2129) - Wohl,Aleksandar (2458) [C56]
Australian Championship NSLCC, Cammeray, NSW (3.4), 04.01.2010

1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.d4 exd4 4.Bc4 Nf6 5.0-0 Be7 6.e5 Ng4 7.Bf4 d6 8.exd6 cxd6 9.Nxd4 0-0 10.Nc3 Nge5 11.Bd5 Qb6 12.Nb3 a5 13.Be3 Qb4 14.a3 Qh4 15.h3 Be6 16.Nd2 Rad8 17.f4 Nd7 18.f5 Bxd5 19.Nxd5 Bg5 20.Bxg5 Qxg5 21.Ne4 Qh6 22.f6 g6 23.Nxd6 Nc5 24.b4 Rxd6 25.Ne7+ Nxe7 26.Qxd6 Qe3+ 27.Kh2 Ne4 28.Qxe7 Qg3+ 29.Kh1 Nf2+ 30.Rxf2 Qxf2 (D)
31.Rd1 Qb6 32.Rd7 axb4 33.Rxb7 Qd8 34.Qxd8 Rxd8 35.axb4 h6 36.c4 1-0

1 comment:

Maroussia said...

It will be great to watch World Cup 2010 - E4, i have bought tickets from
http://ticketfront.com/event/World_Cup_2010_E4-tickets looking forward to it.