Friday, 1 January 2010

2010(?) Australian Championship

The Australian Championship begins tomorrow in Sydney. I'm not quite sure whether it is the 2010 Championship (as the website has it) or the 2009-2010 Championship, as historically this event used to start between Christmas and New Years Day, until organisers realised that it made more sense to start it in the new year.
In fact the organisers have done an excellent job of attracting a large field with 186 players entering the major events (Championship, Reserves, Minor and Classic). This is big increase over the size of the fields for the last three Championships and Opens. Three GM's are in the field (Zhao, Jones and Johansen), although Jones is not eligible for the title. Live coverage of the games will also be available from the website.

No comments: