Tuesday, 14 January 2020

2020 Australian Chess Championship - Day 11

GM Temur Kuybokarov is the winner of the 2020 Australian Chess Championship, after drawing his final round game against FM Kevin O'Chee. Needing only half a point to secure outright first, Kubokarov knocked back a cheeky move 5 draw offer from O'Chess, but as the game progressed, was faced with a number of difficult decisions. He sacrificed an exchange to try and create winning chances, but eventually the game was drawn by repetition.
IM Junta Ikeda won his final round game against Cameron McGowan to finish in second place on 8.5/11. Ikeda started the tournament with 3.5/5 but finished the event with 5 straight wins. IM Igor Bjelobrk took third prize after drawing with FM Jack Puccini. Puccini missed out on an IM norm after a couple of late tournament losses, but still picked up rating points.
Apart from Ikeda, FM Michael Kethro and Willis Lo both had good tournament. Kethro received the bye in the final round but his score of 6/11 was still a good result. Willis Lo had a slow start but a good second half saw him reach 50% with a final round win.
In the Reserves Ross Lam defeated Kevin Sheldrick to create a tie for first. As there is no playoff procedure for this event, both players shared first place, and may both qualify for the 2022 Australian Championships.

No comments: