Sunday, 31 July 2016

2016 ANU Open - Day 2

The 2016  ANU Open ended in a tie for first between two local IM's, Andrew Brown and Junta Ikeda. The two players drew their round 5 game, leaving Brown holding a half point lead with two rounds to play. But a marathon draw in round 6 between Brown and third seed Soumya Thakurta allowed Ikeda to catch up, and with both players winning their last round games, 6/7 was enough for both players to share the prize money. In terms of countback, Brown's faster start worked in his favour, and as a result he collected the first place trophy for the 4th straight year.
Thakurta drew with both tournament winners, but lost a further half point by taking a half point bye in round 4. Wenlin Yin scored 5/7 to pick up the Under 2000 prize, while Albert Winkelman (4.5), and Fred Litchfield (4) also ended up in the money.
In the Under 1600 tournament Wayne Grinyer overtook Mitchell Jones with a win in their round 7 clash. In the previous round Jones had been the recipient of some spectacular luck when Lee Forace thought his sacrificial attack had miscarried, and chose to resign instead of executing a forced mate in 3. Jones took a share of second with evergreen Bill Egan, while Forace bounced back from his disappointment with a last round win to finish on 5.
Final standings for the event (plus the top 4 games from the last round) can be seen at

Thakurta,Soumya - Litchfield,Fred [A08]
2016 ANU Open Canberra (7.3), 31.07.2016

No comments: