Monday, 3 December 2007

Australian Schools Teams Championship 2007

Also held over the weekend was the 2007 Australian Schools Teams Championship. While most of Canberra's best players were battling out in salubrious Tuggeranong, 4 school chess teams travelled up to Brisbane to take on the best school teams from the other Australian states.
And it turned out to be a very succesful trip for the ACT representatives with Hawker Primary winning the Primary Open, and Curtin Primary winning the Primary Girls tournament. Hawker College finished 5th (out of 6) in the Secondary Open, while Daramalan College finished =3rd (4th 3rd on tie break) in the Secondary Girls.
Congratulations to all teams and parents involved. Full results can be found here.


Libby said...

The Daramalan girls actually finished 3rd based on ASTC tiebreaks so I think this is the ACT's best ASTC having won 2 divisions but placing in 3 of the 4.

This year Board prizes were awarded for the first time and Boards 2-4 from Hawker (Stuart Mason, Edmund Goldrick & Anand Gupte) won in the Primary Open and Lucinda Flood won the Board 2 prize in the Primary Girls with a perfect 5/5. Luthien Russell missed the Board 1 prize in the Secondary Girls on tiebreak.


Shaun Press said...

I would have thought that Daramalan finished third by virtue of beating the team they tied with, but the website (crosstable) had them finishing 4th. Of course this may be a problem with the website.

Libby said...

The ASTC doesn't tiebreak on the head to head. I think they won on match points or some such. There's a series of tiebreak rules that are on the tournament & acf sites.

We were busy speculating as Curtin were 13-13 with Somerville with 1 round to play and 2-2 in the head to head and anticipating both teams winning 4-0 in the final round. But they didn't :0)