Saturday, 23 April 2011

2011 Doeberl Cup Lightning

There is no explaining chess players. Last years Doeberl Cup Lightning event was a raging success, with 83 players and a host of GM's/IM's. This year, with the same format, same prizes, and same entry fees, the field was only 45 players with 2 IM's and 2 FM's taking part.
The top seed was IM George Xie who made a special trip down from Sydney to take part (he passed on this years Doeberl Cup Premier). However an early loss to Blair Mandla derailed his event, and he eventually finished outside the prizes. Instead it was 4th and 6th seeds James Morris and Jason Hu who tied for first with 8/9. Morris won the first place trophy on countback, as Hu's first round loss (followed by 8 wins) meant he played a weaker field.
Blair Mandla finished third, with the various ratings prizes shared by groups of 4 and 5 players!
Full results are available from the Doeberl Cup website.

Xie,George - Mandla,Blair [B01]
Doeberl Lightning Canberra, 23.04.2011

1.e4 d5 2.exd5 Nf6 3.Nf3 Bg4 4.c4 c6 5.Nc3 cxd5 6.cxd5 Nxd5 7.Qb3 Nxc3 8.Qxb7 Qd5 9.Qb4 Qe6+ 0-1

No comments: