Tuesday, 25 March 2008

2008 O2C Doeberl Cup - Finito

The 2008 O2C Doeberl Cup finished with an outright win for American GM Varuzhan Akobian, with 7.5/9. Akobian finished with 6 wins and 3 draws (including a first round draw), leaving him a full point ahead of 7 players on 6.5. Equal second were GM Zhang (SIN), GM Jones (ENG), GM Ganguly (IND), GM Gagunashvili (GEO), GM Antic (SRB), IM Solomon (AUS), IM Kizov (MKD).
The Major ended in a win for Blair Mandla (6.5) after drawing with Andrewy Bliznyuk. Bliznyuk finished equal second with Brendon Norman and Kerry Stead (6.0). In the Minor Emma Guo score 7/7 ahead of Michael Ngo (6) and Trent Parker 5.5.
Over all the event attracted 229 players (a record) as well as a large number of spectators who enjoyed both the event and Ian Roger's commentary. The organisers also surveyed the players about good/bad things with the tournament, and the overwhelming feeling was that the event was the best Doeberl Cup ever.
Of course such an event cannot be such a success without the assistance of plenty of people, so I will try and list all the contributers (in no particular order). Charles Bishop, Steve Rohan-Jones, Lara Bishop, Emma Piper, Nyssa Zelman, Shun Ikeda, Jenny Oliver, Mirabelle Guo, Jim Flood, Jenny Mason, Ian Rogers, Cathy Rogers, Brian Jones, Charles Zworestine, Simon Mitchell, the various game enterers, and of course anyone else I've missed (eg Libby Smith).

No comments: